Language

About Finca Bavaria and the South Zone

Get to know us

History of Finca Bavaria

The southern part of Costa Rica is an unparalleled treasure. Almost 30 years ago, Rudy, the owner of the property, saw its potential and acquired the 11 hectares that make up Finca Bavaria. From then on, he made great efforts to build an access road, power lines and the aqueduct that supplies water to Finca Bavaria. The infrastructure was completed just over 20 years ago and was designed to take advantage of the wonderful view, the cool breeze and the proximity of the river and its waterfalls. Most of the area was reforested and, over time, small improvements have been made. Rudy spent his first summers in this tropical paradise, giving it a memorable atmosphere of enjoyment and camaraderie. Currently, the space maintains its warm welcome combined with tranquility and serenity.

A day at Finca Bavaria

After waking up to the sound of howling monkeys, you can drink a freshly squeezed coffee to prepare your body for the day. Then, take a walk along the “morning trail”, a path that runs through the thick vegetation of the 10 hectares of the property. You'll probably come across a couple of morpho butterflies, the odd toucan in the rainy season, maybe a white-haired monkey, hummingbirds and waterfalls.

Those who visit Finca Bavaria always remember its unparalleled sunsets, the birds and their songs, the dreamy beaches, the symphony of nature, the pleasant view from the pool, the waterfalls on the property, the delicious plant-based foods and the relaxed atmosphere of the place.

Bavarian beings

Jasmine Selva F

Administrative Manager
Experimental cook

He took over the management of Finca Bavaria in 2020. Since then, he has focused on finding sustainable and respectful ways to manage space. She combines her enthusiasm for locally-focused vegan cuisine with a love for the region that saw her grow.

Gazú Bavaria

Master and Lord of Bavaria
Resident dog

An old and calm soul. He grew up in Finca Bavaria and you can tell how he has absorbed the peace of this place over the years.

Noemi Delgado

In charge of space cleaning

It fills our days with joy and good energy. He shows extensive experience and enthusiasm for traditional cuisine. She was born in Vergel de Osa, welcomed by her grandmother. Committed to waste reduction and cleaning management that does not compromise the environment.

Johan Fernández

Head of maintenance

The Finca Bavaria engine starts every morning thanks to Johan. He is very passionate about the mechanics and engineering of things. Their sensitivity to finding efficient solutions and taking care of the surroundings is admirable.

Miciela Bavaria

Mistress and Lady of Bavaria
Resident dog

His eyes look at the soul. A little dog rescued from Playa Arco who found a safe home at Finca Bavaria to share all her love.

Rudy and Doris

Founding owners of Finca Bavaria

Rudy founded Finca Bavaria in the early 2000s. His vision for a reliable infrastructure that will take advantage of the wonders of the terrain without further interfering with the environment, is evident to date in the details of the entire property. A native of Bavaria, he gives his name to the estate. Doris has been his wife since 2009 and has reinforced operations with her ingenuity, insight and charm.

Marino Ballena National Park

The PNMB constitutes the first protected Costa Rican wilderness area created exclusively for its marine resources. In addition, it represents the first marine park in Central America (UCR-FUNDEVI 1995/SINAC), and is in the eighth position as the best place for whale watching in the world, according to National Geographic. The PNMB covers an area of 5160 marine hectares and 171 terrestrial hectares with a 15 km long coastal strip that runs from the mouth of the Morete River to Punta Piñuela.

Uvita

It is a small town framed by the Ballena Marine National Park. Several kilometers of white beach, rivers with abundant waterfalls and access to facilities such as supermarkets, restaurants and banks make it the main center of the area.

Protected Area

The Ballena Marine National Park includes in its land area the beaches of Uvita, Colonia, Arco, Ballena and Piñuela, while in its maritime area there are the rocks Tres Hermanas, Roca la Viuda, Isla Ballena and El Tómbol or Cola de Ballena. This diversity makes the national park composed of different environments such as cliffs, reefs, sandy beaches, stony beaches, mangroves, primary forest and forest in succession.

It has a very humid tropical forest, with a dry season that runs from mid-December to mid-April, with sporadic rains and a rainy season from mid-April to mid-December.
In terms of vegetation, the most important patches of forest are in Punta Ballena and Punta Piñuela, where you can find ojoche, cedar maria, chicozapote and lizard trees. The mangrove, in Estero Negro and surrounding areas, is made up of red mangrove, button, and salt stick.

With regard to fauna, in addition to the humpback whale, you can find species such as the spotted dolphin, the bottlenose dolphin, the stingray, the hammerhead shark, the parrotfish and the macarelle. Ballena Island is also an important nesting site for white ibises; other bird species found in the park are the sea earwig and the canelo piquero.

375

Bird species

124

Terrestrial mammals

12

Veggie friendly restaurants

12

Nearby beaches

Be part of the responsible and sustainable enjoyment of natural spaces

request a reservation
Click to view application form

Language

Über die Finca Bavaria und die Südzone

Lerne uns kennen

Geschichte der Finca Bavaria

Der südliche Teil von Costa Rica ist ein unvergleichlicher Schatz. Vor fast 30 Jahren erkannte Rudy, der Besitzer des Anwesens, dessen Potenzial und erwarb die 11 Hektar, aus denen die Finca Bavaria besteht. Von da an unternahm er große Anstrengungen, um eine Zufahrtsstraße, Stromleitungen und das Aquädukt zu bauen, das die Finca Bavaria mit Wasser versorgt. Die Infrastruktur wurde vor etwas mehr als 20 Jahren fertiggestellt und so konzipiert, dass sie die herrliche Aussicht, die kühle Brise und die Nähe des Flusses und seiner Wasserfälle nutzt. Der größte Teil des Gebietes wurde wiederaufgeforstet und, Im Laufe der Zeit wurden kleine Verbesserungen vorgenommen. Rudy verbrachte seine ersten Sommer in diesem tropischen Paradies und verlieh ihm eine unvergessliche Atmosphäre voller Freude und Kameradschaft. Derzeit bietet der Raum seinen herzlichen Empfang, kombiniert mit Ruhe und Gelassenheit.

Ein Tag auf der Finca Bavaria

Nachdem Sie mit dem Geräusch heulender Affen aufgewacht sind, können Sie einen frisch gepressten Kaffee trinken, um Ihren Körper auf den Tag vorzubereiten. Machen Sie anschließend einen Spaziergang auf dem „Morning Trail“, einem Pfad, der durch die dichte Vegetation der 10 Hektar des Grundstücks führt. Sie werden wahrscheinlich auf ein paar Morpho-Schmetterlinge stoßen, in der Regenzeit auf den einen oder anderen Tukan, vielleicht auf einen weißhaarigen Affen, Kolibris und Wasserfälle.

Wer die Finca Bavaria besucht, erinnert sich immer an die unvergleichlichen Sonnenuntergänge, die Vögel und ihre Lieder, die traumhaften Strände, die Symphonie der Natur, die schöne Aussicht vom Pool, die Wasserfälle auf dem Grundstück, die köstlichen pflanzlichen Speisen und die entspannte Atmosphäre des Ortes.

Bayerische Wesen

Jasmín Selva F

Administrativer Leiter
Experimenteller Koch

Im Jahr 2020 übernahm er die Leitung der Finca Bavaria. Seitdem konzentriert er sich darauf, nachhaltige und respektvolle Wege zur Raumverwaltung zu finden. Sie kombiniert ihre Begeisterung für lokal ausgerichtete vegane Küche mit der Liebe zu der Region, in der sie gewachsen ist.

Gazú Bavaria

Meister und Herr von Bayern
Ansässiger Hund

Eine alte und ruhige Seele. Er ist auf der Finca Bavaria aufgewachsen und man merkt, wie er im Laufe der Jahre die Ruhe dieses Ortes in sich aufgenommen hat.

Noemi Delgado

Verantwortlich für die Raumreinigung

Es erfüllt unsere Tage mit Freude und guter Energie. Er zeigt umfangreiche Erfahrung und Begeisterung für traditionelle Küche. Sie wurde in Vergel de Osa geboren und von ihrer Großmutter begrüßt. Wir setzen uns für Abfallreduzierung und Reinigungsmanagement ein, das die Umwelt nicht belastet.

Johan Fernández

Leiter der Wartung

Der Motor der Finca Bavaria startet dank Johan jeden Morgen. Er hat eine große Leidenschaft für die Mechanik und Technik der Dinge. Ihr Feingefühl, effiziente Lösungen zu finden und sich um die Umwelt zu kümmern, ist bewundernswert.

Miciela Bavaria

Herrin und Herrin von Bayern
Ansässiger Hund

Seine Augen schauen auf die Seele. Ein kleiner Hund, der aus Playa Arco gerettet wurde und auf der Finca Bavaria ein sicheres Zuhause gefunden hat, um all ihre Liebe zu teilen.

Rudy y Doris

Gründer der Finca Bayern

Rudy gründete die Finca Bavaria Anfang der 2000er Jahre. Seine Vision einer zuverlässigen Infrastruktur, die die Wunder des Geländes nutzt, ohne die Umwelt weiter zu beeinträchtigen, zeigt sich bis heute in den Details des gesamten Anwesens. Er stammt aus Bayern und gibt dem Anwesen seinen Namen. Doris ist seit 2009 seine Frau und hat den Betrieb mit ihrem Einfallsreichtum, ihrer Einsicht und ihrem Charme verstärkt.

Nationalpark Marino Ballena

Das PNMB ist das erste geschützte Wildnisgebiet Costa Ricas, das ausschließlich für seine Meeresressourcen geschaffen wurde. Darüber hinaus ist es der erste Meerespark in Mittelamerika (UCR-FUNDEVI 1995/SINAC) und belegt laut National Geographic den achten Platz als bester Ort für Walbeobachtungen der Welt. Das PNMB erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von 5160 Hektar Meer und 171 Hektar Land mit einem 15 km langen Küstenstreifen, der von der Mündung des Flusses Morete bis Punta Piñuela verläuft.

Uvita

Es ist eine kleine Stadt, die vom Ballena Marine National Park eingerahmt wird. Mehrere Kilometer weißer Strand, Flüsse mit zahlreichen Wasserfällen und der Zugang zu Einrichtungen wie Supermärkten, Restaurants und Banken machen es zum Hauptzentrum der Region.

Geschützter Bereich

Der Ballena Marine National Park umfasst in seiner Landfläche die Strände von Uvita, Colonia, Arco, Ballena und Piñuela, während sich in seinem Meeresgebiet die Felsen Tres Hermanas, Roca la Viuda, Isla Ballena und El Tómbol oder Cola de Ballena befinden. Aufgrund dieser Vielfalt besteht der Nationalpark aus verschiedenen Umgebungen wie Klippen, Riffen, Sandstränden, Steinstränden, Mangroven, Primärwald und Wald nacheinander.

Es hat einen sehr feuchten Tropenwald mit einer Trockenzeit, die von Mitte Dezember bis Mitte April dauert, mit sporadischen Regenfällen und einer Regenzeit von Mitte April bis Mitte Dezember.
In Bezug auf die Vegetation befinden sich die wichtigsten Waldgebiete in Punta Ballena und Punta Piñuela, wo Sie Ojoche-, Zedernmaria-, Chicozapote- und Echsenbäume finden. Die Mangrove in Estero Negro und Umgebung besteht aus roten Mangroven, Knöpfen und Salzstäbchen.

In Bezug auf die Fauna gibt es neben dem Buckelwal auch Arten wie den Fleckendelfin, den Großen Tümmler, den Stachelrochen, den Hammerhai, den Papageienfisch und die Makarelle. Die Insel Ballena ist auch ein wichtiger Nistplatz für weiße Ibisse. Andere Vogelarten, die im Park vorkommen, sind der Meeresohrwurm und der Canelo Piquero.

375

Vogelarten

124

Landsäugetiere

12

Vegetarierfreundliche Restaurants

12

Strände in der Nähe

Seien Sie Teil der verantwortungsvollen und nachhaltigen Nutzung natürlicher Räume

reservieren
Klicken Sie hier, um das Antragsformular anzuzeigen